Here Comes the Rain Again

6 07 2010

Opportunities for language learning come in sorts of places.  You can be stuck in traffic, trying to get the best deal on a pair of fisherman’s trousers, or attempting to make yourself understood to a taxi driver … one consistent element to all of this is relevance.  Without a genuine desire, need or curiosity to  learn you just won’t.  There has to be  purpose to it all.

Take this morning for example.  I woke up to a tremendous crack of thunder, it was chucking it down outside and the soi was gradually filling with dirty grey water.   “The traffic’s going to be awful”, “What are the chances of the soi flooding?”,”I want to stay in bed”, were just a few of the thoughts that flashed through my consciousness.  And this got me to wondering what my Thai counterparts would be thinking as the rain threw itself down on the City of Angels.  I fired up Twitter, the world’s repository for random musings, and searched for ฝนตก.

It's raining in Bangkok

Seconds later I had more reading practice than I could shake a rain-stick at, and all on a theme that was relevant to my curiosity this morning … and therefore stuff that I am far more likely to learn from.  Among others, I learned the Thai words for soporific and overcast – both new to me today.  Here are a few genuine tweets from this morning to give you some reading practice.  Breakdowns follow each.

First some key vocabulary

ฝนตก fŏn dtòk: it’s raining

อากาศ aa-gàat: weather

ครึ้ม kréum: overcast

รุ้ง rúng: rainbow

ลื่น lêun: slippery

ง่วง ngûang: sleepy

น่านอน naa nawn: soporific

The Tweets and their breakdowns

ฝนตก แต่ไม่เห็นรุ้ง อยากเห็นมั่ง

ฝนตก it’s raining

แต่ไม่เห็นรุ้ง but I can’t see a rainbow

อยากเห็นมั่ง I’d quite like to see one

ฝนตก รถติดอีกแล้วโว้ย! เซ็งที่สุด

ฝนตก it’s raining

รถติดอีกแล้วโว้ย  traffic jam again!  [โว้ย is a mildly aggressive exclamatory particle, an equivalent might be ‘for goodness sake’]

เซ็ง ที่สุด (I’m) the most bored

ฝนตก อากาศน่านอนสุดๆ

ฝนตก it’s raining

อากาศน่านอนสุดๆ the weather is the most soporific

ฝนตก ถนนก็ไม่ค่อยลื่น แต่รองเท้าลื่น

ฝนตก [you know this one by now]

ถนนก็ไม่ค่อยลื่น the road is not very slippery

แต่รองเท้าลื่น but my shoes are slippery

ฝนตก แต่เดินทางสบาย เพราะไม่ต้องติดบนถนน มารถไฟฟ้าก็เงี้ย

ฝนตก [all together now …]

แต่เดินทางสบาย but (my) journey (was) comfortable

เพราะไม่ต้องติดบนถนน because (I) wasn’t stuck on the roads

มารถไฟฟ้าก็เงี้ย (I) came by skytrain!

ฝนตก ง่วงได้อีก555

ง่วง sleepy

ได้อีก again

555 ha ha ha

มาทำงานแต่เช้า ฝนตก อากาศก็ครึ้มๆ น่านอนจริง ทำไมวันหยุด มันไม่ตกอย่างงี้

มาทำงานแต่เช้า came to work early morning

อากาศครึ้มๆ weather overcast

น่านอนจริง really soporific

ทำไมวันหยุดมันไม่ตกอย่างงี้ Why doesn’t it rain like this on (my) days off?

เป็นอย่างไรกันบ้าง ฝนตก รถติด น้ำท่วมมั๊ย

เป็นอย่างไรกันบ้าง how’s it going everyone?

รถติด น้ำท่วมมั๊ย traffic jam and floods?

ฝนตกรถติดสถาณการณ์เลวร้ายมาก

รถติด traffic jam

สถาณการณ์เลวร้ายมาก situation very bad.

So there you go, some real life, genuine and relevant language learning opportunities, and  that’s why this blog is called Tweet Yourself Thai.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

One response

6 08 2010
It’s Raining It’s Pouring « Tweet Yourself Thai

[…] Raining It’s Pouring 6 08 2010 I was inspired this morning to do another post on the rain.  Maybe it’s because we are well and truly in the wet season, perhaps because I’m […]

Leave a Reply

