Tin Tin’s Adventures, in Thai

12 12 2010

Learning how to read in another language is all about finding reading matter that interests and motivates you.  For different people that means different things.  For me, I have found that thinking back to what motivated me to read when I learned to do it the first time around (the Mr Men series, comics books, crime novels, newspapers and the unsettling works of Irvine Welsh among many more, have all at one time or another made up my literary diet) and doing it again in Thai has proved just as rewarding.

If you have ‘liked’ TweetYourselfThai’s Facebook page then you might know that I was a lucky recipient of a boxed set of the Thai translated versions of Tin Tin books for my birthday last month.  I clearly remember purchasing these one by one as a kid and, on my return from each visit to the bookshop, eagerly devouring them in one sitting at the kitchen table.  Doing it all again in Thai is turning out to be just as much fun.

Below I have reproduced the blurb on the back of the books, explaining a little about Tin Tin and his creator Hergé.  If you haven’t tried him out, I recommend you give him a go.  Key vocab and tricky words first then the reading and listening.  Rollover translations as always.

Key Vocab and Tricky Words
กำเนิด gam-nèrt: originate
ปลายปากกา bplaai bpàak-gaa: tip of a pen
เบลเยี่ยมbayn-yîam: Belgium
นามปากกา naam bpàak-gaa: nom de plume/pen name
ตัวอักษรแรก dtua àk-sŏn râek: initials
สลับตำแหน่ง sà-làp dtam-nàeng: reverse position
นิสัย ní-săi: habits/traits
การผจญภัย gaan pà-jon pai: adventure
กล้าหาญ glâa hăan: brave
อดทน òt ton: tolerant
กระตือรือร้น grà-dteu-reu-rón: enthusiastic
ทางบก taang bòk: by land
ทางน้ำ taang náam: by water
ทางอากาศ taang aa-gàat: by air
ทะเลทราย tá-lay saai: desert
ดวงจันทร์ duang jan: the moon
อวกาศ à-wá-gàat: (outer) space
ขณะ kà-nà: while/meanwhile
ถ่ายทอด tàai tôt: transmit/broadcast
ยอดจำหน่าย yôt jam-nàai: circulation

The Tin Tin Blurb
ตินตินเป็นการ์ตูนที่มีชื่อเสียงโด่งดังมากที่สุดในโลกเรื่องหนึ่งกำเนิดเมื่อปี ค.ศ. 1929 จากปลายปากกาของจอร์จ เรมีชาวเบลเยี่ยม โดยใช้นามปากกาว่าแอร์เช่ ซึ่งนำเอาตัวอักษรแรกของชื่อและนามสกุลมาสลับตำแหน่งกันและออกเสียงแบบภาษาฝรังเศส

ตินตินเป็นนักข่าวหนุ่ม มีนิสัยรักการผจญภัย กล้าหาญ อดทน กระตือรือร้น และต่อสู้เพื่อความถูกต้องในสังคม เขามีสุนัขคู่ใจอยู่ตัวหนึ่งชื่อว่า สโนวี่

การผจญภัยของตินตินและเจ้าสโนวี่ เกิดขึ้นท้ังทางบก ทางน้ำ ทางอากาศ บุกไปในทะเลทรายรวมถึงในประเทศต่างๆ เช่น จีน รัสเซีย อียิปต์ คองโก สห้รัฐอเมริกา และยังไปไกลถึงดวงจันทร์ในอวกาศ

จนถึงขณะนี้ เรื่องราวการผจญภัยของตินตินได้รับการถ่ายทอดไว้ในหนังสือจำนวน 24 เล่ม มีการแปลเป็นภาษาต่างๆ กว่า 50 ภาษา และมียอดจำหน่ายกว่า 200 ล้านเล่มทั่วโลก
[Audio http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7787581/tin_tin.mp3 ]

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 12 2010
Catherine Wentworth

I’m a huge fan of Tin Tin, having purchased a stack when I was learning French. And what’s really great is the common language used in the books.

21 12 2010
Yedian

Neat post. I’ll have to look for some the Tin Tin books the next time I get out to the local bookstore.

In working through your text I had trouble looking up the word (or words) “สนัขคู่ใจ”. Also at the end of the article I suspect the tone mark in word “ท่ัวโลก” is incorrect.

One additional suggestion – please use the power of HTML / CSS to make the Thai script a little bigger. For folks that are reading Thai by the word, I suspect the small point size is not a problem, but for folks still getting their footing with lots of new vocabulary, seeing the difference between the Thai vowels อี and อึ in a small point size in nearly impossible.

Keep up the great work. I’m looking forward to your future posts.

21 12 2010
TweetYourselfThai

Thanks for your comments Yedian.

สุนัขคู่ใจ is basically two words: สุนัข is the formal term for หมา; and คู่ใจ literally means ‘heart couple’ but in this instance can be taken to mean best friends. So, perhaps “[Tin Tin] … has a beloved canine companion called Snowy,” would be a suitable alternative translation.

I’m not seeing the tone mark problem in ท่ัวโลก. ทั่ว = tûa = all over; โลก = lôhk = world; ทั่วโลก = worldwide. Have I missed something?

I totally sympathise about the font size. I have the same problem reading my own blog! My html skills are a bit flakey, hence the automatic stylesheet, but I’ll give it a look. In the meantime, I tend to find using the Ctrl + command to enlarge the font pretty useful when confronted with minuscule Thai characters. Also I am told there is a plug-in for Firefox which allows you to increase only the size of the Thai font on a webpage, leaving the roman text as published.

I’ll put my thinking cap on

Cheers

21 12 2010
Yedian

Thanks for the input. I thought “สนัข” sounded familiar but when I looked it up in a several on-line and paper dictionaries I drew a total blank. I guess I was expecting “สุนัข” as the formal word for ‘dog’. It looks like “สนัข” may be alternate spelling for “สุนัข”.

Concerning word “ท่ัว”, my problem arose from the fact that word was typed as “ท” followed by อ่ (ไม่เอก) followed by อั (ไม่หันอากาศ) while I was expecting ไม่หันอากาศ followed by ไม่เอก. Both renderings look the same on the screen, but my computer sees the two as quite different. When dealing with tiny Thai fonts I my first line of defense is to copy the whole text into another document and give it the once over with several computer based tools I’ve built. That’s how the order of vowel and tone mark in “ท่ัว” came to my attention.

Concerning the Thai script size, I don’t know the style sheet constraints you’re working under as a wordpress.com website. In some of the web pages I’ve constructed for my own use, I’ve borrowed some ideas from Chris Pirazzi’s Slice-of-Thai.com website and built web pages where the user can adjust the size of the Thai script independently of the other text. Feel free to contact me by direct email if I can be of help in suggesting changes to the style sheet your using. I wasn’t aware of the Firefox plug-in which allows one to increase the size of a Thai font. I’ll have to go looking for that one. Thanks for tip.

21 12 2010
TweetYourselfThai

Ha! Apologies Yedian – you have indeed spotted a typo. It should of course be สุนข. Now fixed, cheers.

I now get where you’re coming from with the positioning of the tones and vowels. I guess this is a browser thing.*

Many thanks for the suggestions re coding. I’ll give it some thought.

*Update: yes, it seems my PC renders the ไม่เอก and ไม่หันอากาศ in the order in which they were inputed, while my Mac (where I wrote the post) renders them correctly regardless of how they have been typed. Worth knowing.

Leave a Reply

