Customer Satisfaction

27 01 2011

We value your opinion. Well, we do if you can read Thai.

Seconds after walking out of the Dtac shop the other day, after paying my phone bill, the text message below popped up asking me how satisfied I was with the service I had just received.

Now, I don’t know how badly wrong reading a price off a screen, taking a banknote, then making change can go in order to warrant a score of 1. Or indeed what kind of awesome is needed for a clerk to score 5. Neither am I sure what shades of quality will help me to differentiate between the other three possible satisfaction levels. However, I like to take my reading practice where I can get it. And for that Dtac I am very satisfied. Thank you.

Key Vocab and Tricky Words
ดีแทค dee tâek: Dtac
บริการ bor-rí-gaan: service
ประเมิน bprà-mern: evaluate
ความพึงพอใจ kwaam peung por jai: satisfaction
พนักงาน pá-nák ngaan: employee
สาขา săa-kăa: branch (of a business)
ค่าใช้จ่าย kâa chái jàai: expense
เฉยๆ chŏie chŏie: ambivalent

Text with Rollover Translation
สวัสดีค่ะ ดีแทคขอบคุณที่ใช้บริการ
กรุณาช่วย ประเมินความพึงพอใจ
ในการบริการของพนักงาน
สาขา เซ็นทรัลแจ้งวัฒนะ
ที่คุณไปใช้บริการ
เพียงพิมพ์หมายเลขที่ตรงกับ
ความพึงพอใจของคุณตอบกลับมา
โดยไม่เสียค่าใช้จ่าย

5=พอใจมากที่สุด
4=พอใจมาก
3=พอใจ
2=เฉยๆ
1=ไม่พอใจ

[Audio http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7787581/Dtac.mp3%5D

Click to hear the excerpt read.

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 01 2011
Catherine

My phone is filled with stuff like that but I never thought of it as reading practice. Good idea actually.

28 01 2011
Yedian

I think I would try to read more of these on my iPhone if I could figure out an easy way to make the Thai script a little larger. For instance, distinguishing between ‘ช’ and ‘ซ’ on my phone is a real challenge. The display on the iPhone is good enough such that I can read Thai text messages clearly using a magnifying glass but that’s a tad inconvenient when standing on a street corner. BTW, on the third line of the text I think ชอง should be ของ. Thanks for another interesting post.

28 01 2011
TweetYourselfThai

@Cat Yeah, kills a few minutes while waiting for a bus!
@Yedian Totally sympathise, but at least an iPhone does a better job of it than a pixelated old Nokia 3310 where I first started all this malarky. Can always take a screen grab and zoom in if it’s really important. Typo fixed. Thanks.

29 01 2011
Snap

I don’t know how I missed your blog after months and months of scouring the internet for ways to learn about the Thai Languange and Thailand. I look forward to receiving future posts and even though I’m a total beginner, I think every little bit of exposure to the language and culture, has got to help.

29 01 2011
TweetYourselfThai

Welcome Snap, and thanks for your comment. I highly recommend getting to grips with the written language asap if you haven’t already – and that’ll allow you to get the most out of this site. Brett is up your way and is a great teacher. Check out his site LearnThaiFromAWhiteGuy – link in my blogroll.

30 01 2011
Snap

Agree totally about learning to read and write while learning to speak. I’ve devoted a whole other blog to my joys and frustrations with Thai language and cultural differences. It’s very therapeutic 😉

I did come across LearnThaiFromAWhiteGuy while still back in Oz…but will go and check it out again. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

